Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Man alive! I got so many craft projects started this weekend!

First, I bought that shower curtain I told you about. It’s just plain white, but I have big plans for it. I’m going to paint an octopus or something classy on it. Secondly, I bought good, thick fabric to line the inside of that stinky trunk we bought. Thirdly, I found a stick.

That’s not all! You must think I’m so simple because I considered myself an accomplished human for finding such a beautiful stick! I tore off a branch and I’m going to paint it and stick it here on my bathroom wall (on which to hang necklaces). It’s crape myrtle and is pretty strong (I wonder what Mr. T selected? Probably willow. So dumb. Mr. T needs crape myrtle)

But first I need to paint it. Here’s where things got really exciting. I found this color (third one down). It’s small can of Behr “Wet Coral” #190B-6. It’s going to take a few coats because I really want it lacquered up. I’ll let you know how it looks when I’m finished! (side note, I should have rotated the photo so that you could read the local grocery ad. Basically, the only thing worth buying this week is the red onion. Trust me).

My last project was to paint our bedroom. This is my absolute new favorite paint color and you should RUN, not walk, to Home Depot if you’re in the market for a calming gray paint color. It’s Benjamin Moore “Stonington Gray.” I got the idea from this lady’s dresser.I bought the cheaper Behr version ($25 a gallon) at HomeDepot just by giving them the color code HC 170. I can’t tell you how beautiful it is. Here is a before/after of our bedroom.

I need help knowing what to put on the wall behind the bed. Note the black/white stripe rug. Too similar to the chevron rug I talked about the other day, right? I know. I agree. That’s why we bought the gray/orange branch rug! I’m really excited. It should be here within the week and I’ll post a pic.

Time to get back to work! Today’s goal: plan an estate sale for a client, sell 48,864 clothing items for a different client, line the trunk with new fabric!

A few random things:

I love Eve Lom “Kiss Mix” lip gloss/moisturizer. You will not regret this.

It’s not waxy like Chapstick or slimy like gloss can be. It’s a miracle. Just wanted you to know. I found it for $20 and it will last you 6 months or so, depending on how amazing you like your lips looking, I suppose.

Lastly, here’s a recipe that Ty and I invented last night and then used the left overs for lunch today in a totally new recipe! Just wanted to share. The salad pic looks like a crazy mess.

  1. Cut chicken breast into strips. Mix some OJ, brown sugar, and honey in a bowl and mix it up. Pour this mixture and chicken in a pan. Cook it for however long. I don’t know these things but I’m not sick today, so it seems like I did it correctly.
  2. Get a salad mix. Put cooked chicken, brown rice (I use those 3 minute microwave bags), cranberries, and walnuts in a bowl and toss with a vinaigrette. I didn’t have any so I mixed some olive oil, balsamic, and salt and pepper together. Again, I didn’t pay attention to proportion. I think it was 50/50 oil/vinegar.
  3. Eat it.

We had left over chicken and Tyrone made the most delicious chicken salad sandwich for us today. Here’s how that went:

  1. Dice chicken from last night. Put in a bowl and add mayo, a little yellow mustard, more cranberries, almond slices, and grapes. I keep grapes in the freezer for dessert, so we always have some on hand. (I know what you’re thinking…”Geez…this girl really knows how to indulge when she wants to spoil herself. Frozen grapes for dessert! Well, I never”). Salt and pepper to taste. I added a little curry powder to mine and it was MIRACULOUS! Put on some bread and enjoy. I would have also added some celery for crunch.