Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I find the strangest things at thrift stores. When I’m shopping, I occasionally check pockets of things, just because you’ll never know what you’ll find. Some may consider this a hazard of the job (what if I poke my finger on a hypodermic needle?!) which is why I was able to write off health insurance, band-aids, and blood-born disease research donations on my taxes this year.

So, I found this awesome Burberry trench-coat. It’s a little big on me, otherwise I’d rock this all over the place.Image

I’ve always fantasized that I’ll find an invaluable treasure in the pocket of some Esprit jeans or something. I get this from a news story I heard years ago about this place called the Unclaimed Baggage Center in Alabama. They literally sell all the stuff that people leave behind at airports. Some idiot kid pulled the head off a Barbie they found at the center, and a ton of $100 bills fell out (possible hole in story: I tried this at home and could only fit one $1 bill. I can only assume it would fit the same number of $100 bills). I took a road trip from Oak Ridge, Tennessee to Scottsboro, Alabama just to visit this place. That’s 172 miles and 3 hours of anticipation on the drive there and 172 and 13 hours of depression on the way home. My alternator broke in the 30 degree weather and I was forced to camp out in the car with my friends Jessica and Susanna. We wrote “help” on the steamed up windows (which were made so by the energetic eating of twizzlers).

Anyway, back to the trench coat…While photographing it, I was checking the pockets and found this treasure:Image

My question is, do I leave it in the pocket to create a sense of history to whoever buys this coat? The matchbox is from a French restaurant in San Jose, Costa Rica. Who wears trench coats in Costa Rica?! Image

Did this coat belong to a spy? Should I contact the National Archives or the Department of Security? Is there a camera inside said spliff?