Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi again. Remember me?

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I also do a little professional organizing  for work. 2 weeks ago, I flew back out to Los Angeles for a HUGE job. I mean, you could get lost in this house. We moved the client from one house to a newer, much nicer house. Usually the client goes to live in a hotel and shows back up a few weeks later to a perfectly organized, functioning household. This particular client and his wife were very involved. This can be great (i.e. quick input, exciting to hang out with a famous person) or it can be awful (i.e. you realize your favorite movie star is a hoarder when they want to tell you the story behind every single old sock or kitchen utensil). These clients were very kind, appreciative, and easy to work with, which makes the job SUPER fun, even with very long days. I worked primarily on his closet and watch collection, the kid’s room, and, the spice pantry (yes, a whole room devoted to spices).

I leave these jobs with a tiny pang of “want.”  I want the amazing walk in closet full of Louboutins, obscure vintage handbags, and fancy lingerie. I want the beautiful kitchen with every accoutrement you could ever wish for. I NEED the Hollywood back yard with the classic rectangular pool. It’s all very delicious.

Then I was thinking…there are a few items that really stood out as really lux, indulgent things. Why do I need to go to all the trouble to get rich and famous when I can just find these things on my own?!? GENIUS!

  • Bedside water carafe – Unless you have a housekeeper, chances are it won’t fill itself.

Buy one here on eBay for $21 including shipping

I think this one’s pretty cute too

  • ART and findings — One thing I liked about this client was their confidence in mixing all sorts of art. There were a few priceless painting even I could recognize  but they were RIGHT next to framed art from their son. Now that I’m looking around my office, the walls are a little bare. Here are some things I’m considering…
  1. Maps and lithographs  — I love Etsy for this!
    I bought a set of vintage prescriptions that I’m going to frame and put in our bathroom. Click here if you want to buy your own. While you’re searching, look for vintage medicine bottles to put your makeup brushes in
  2. My own art — I have a propensity to collect oil and acrylic paint. Yet I never get around to painting. I found this old canvas by a dumpster once (I’ve never dumpster dived, but this was just SITTING THERE! It’s huge! More on this project in another post. Perhaps tomorrow). You might also recognize this photo from the main photo above. I think I may paint a tandem bike).
 
  1. Found objects – This client also has his pilot license so there were  a few airplane memorabilia around the house. My favorite was an antique propeller.  
I’m not a huge fan of items that just sit around and clutter entire areas though. I either want them up on the walls or serving a function. That being said, I’m interested in doing a “wooden shipping crate wall project.’  I can’t decide if I’d stain or whitewash the wood. Basically, it would look like this.  I’m super pumped about this project and happen to know my neighbors have a few of these sitting by their trash at this very moment. I’m not sure if whoever’s picture this is INTENDED on the room looking like this, but I think it’s awesome.
As someone who tries to stay organized and DE-CLUTTERED, these sorts of decorations are perfect. They’re up off the floor, there’s not taking up space on a coffee table, and not collecting dust in bookcase. Whether or not I always stick to this, this is absolutely at the core of how I decorate.
 
 
  •  Lastly, this house had half a dozen hidden rooms behind fake walls. Obviously, I can’t snatch this up on Amazon with free shipping BUT I am considering seeing what my landlord can do about this new necessity.

Jerry Springer’s Final Thoughts:  This blog post seems to have taken a different direction. I initially wanted to talk about inexpensive items and decor that can make a space feel luxurious, without needing to be a movie star. I guess I talked a little about that, but mostly I just came up with new ways to decorate my own house. We moved in 2 months ago and it’s feeling….less than complete. I know it’s going to be a work in progress, but I’m just ready to be a little more DONE. I’ve officially dedicating this weekend to projects. Wish me luck!